Tynsa irebä :: Channeling the Green Girl











{August 22, 2009}   gone to the birds

Words and word revisions have kept coming to my Miresua conlang. Yet I haven’t done anything with Miresua grammar, or posted recently to this commentary blog.

Recently I’ve gone to the birds. I’ve been mixing Basque and Finnish words to create words in Miresua for various birds. There are birds involved in this idea I have for a fantasy story.

Today’s bird word was magpie. The Basque word for magpie is MIKA. The Finnish word for magpie is HARAKKA. I decided to make my Miresua word for magpie be MAHKA. This is a short word, and more like the Basque word, but a perfectly allowable mix. Also I think it sounds like something a magpie would say.

There’s a rhyme associated with magpies from folklore. An hopscotch rhyme about numbers of magpies.

One for sorrow,
Two for joy,
Three for a girl,
Four for a boy,
Five for silver,
Six for gold,
And seven for a secret never to be told.

Next time I see magpies in the yard, I think I’ll count them.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
